San Sebastián, Sep 23 (EFE).- A few hours after the revelation of the winners of the San Sebastián Film Festival, Spanish cinema is establishing itself as a favorite for a Golden Shell which will put the finishing touch this Saturday to an edition, number 70, where there was no lack of controversy, social criticism and the glamor of stars like Penélope Cruz or Ana de Armas.

“The kindergarten”, a drama about teenage mothers by Pilar Palomero de Zaragoza, and “The consecration of spring”, a film by Fernando Franco which raises the debate on the right to sex for people with disabilities, are at the top of the pools.

Also “Suro”, the first feature film by Basque director Mikel Gurrea, could surprise as its story of a couple in crisis which touches on subjects such as the relationship of human beings to nature or racism, left a very good impression.

Among the international films, the best received was “The Kings of the World”, by Colombian Laura Mora, a dreamlike “road movie” featuring street children from Medellín, which talks about friendship and invites us to reflect on violence and political land restitution in Colombia.

He also has plenty of options to make it onto Austrian Ulrich Seidl’s ‘Sparta’ winners list, who canceled his visit to San Sebastian due to controversy over the publication of a report accusing him of improper treatment of minors on the Positioner.

The film is a raw and uncomfortable portrait of the inner struggle of a man with pedophile tendencies -which are not consumed in the film-, told with sobriety and a high dose of tension.

Another controversial absence was that of the protagonist of the Argentinian film “Pornomelancolía”, the Mexican “pornoinfluencer” Lalo Santos, who refused to go to San Sebastián to denounce the conditions in which the film was made, a “docufiction” based on his life.

For the second year in a row, San Sebastián winners will include an acting award that will not discriminate between genders.

If last year the Danes Flora Ofelia and Jessica Chastain were granted ‘exaequo’, this year it is very likely that a female first name will be repeated since the favorite is the Briton Florence Pugh for her work in “The Wonder” by Sebastián Lelio, without forgetting the Japanese Masaki Suda, Akira Kurosawa’s muse, for “One Hundred Flowers”.

Pugh hasn’t been to San Sebastián since she was immersed in the filming of the second installment of “Dune”, but the share of glamor has been amply covered by stars such as Penélope Cruz, Olivia Wilde or Ana de Armas, who arrives this friday in the donostiarra capital

Cruz went to present the film on the expulsions of Juan Diego Botto, “En los Margins”, and collect the National Cinematography Award, which he announced would go to support organizations affected by the expulsions, research on Cancer and the Filmmakers Aid Fund.

David Cronenberg received his Donostia Prize – with telematic congratulations from its lead actor Viggo Mortensen included – calling for the subversion of the arts, while the other big winner, French actress Juliette Binoche, claimed the value of silence.

Besides the cinema, the event opened its arms to literature, with the presence of a Nobel Prize winner like Kazuo Ishiguro, screenwriter of the film “Living” by British director Oliver Hermanus, screened in the Perlas section.

To music, with documentaries on Joaquín Sabina (“I feel it a lot” by Fernando León de Aranoa) and Tequila (“Tequila. Sex, drugs and rock and roll”, by Álvaro Longoria), who attended the screenings at San Sebastian.

Or in fashion, with the presentation of the filming of the “Balenciaga” series prepared by Basque directors Jon Garaño, Aitor Arregi and José Mari Goenaga with Alberto San Juan as the protagonist and whose premiere is scheduled for 2023 on Disney+.

For some years now, television has also been appearing at this festival, but without entering into competition and this time series such as “Apagón” and “Fácil” by Movistar+ or “La novia gitana” by Atresmedia have been presented.

The award ceremony will start on Saturday at 9:00 p.m. at the Kursaal Palace.

The last word on the list of winners will be held by the jury chaired by Argentinian producer Matías Mosteirín – after Glenn Close resigned at the last minute – along with French casting director Antoinette Boulat, Danish director Tea Lindeburg, writer Spanish Rosa Montero, Lesotho filmmaker Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese and Icelandic Hlynur Pálmason.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.