San Sebastián, Sep 24 (EFE).- After eight days of screenings and with 17 titles in competition for the Golden Shell, the jury of the 70th edition of the San Sebastián Film Festival will unveil its list today of winners, whom they designate as their favorite films, such as the Spanish “Maternal” or the Colombian “The Kings of the World”.

The jury is chaired by Argentinian producer Matías Mosteirín – after Glenn Close resigned at the last minute – and is joined by Danish director Tea Lindeburg, Spanish writer Rosa Montero, Lesotho Lemohang filmmaker Jeremiah Mosese, Icelandic Hlynur Pálmason and French casting director Antoinette Boulat.

The closing ceremony will begin at 9:00 p.m. at the Kursaal Palace, during which the unknowns of a list of winners will be revealed who, in recent years, have leaned towards radical or minority proposals such as the Romanian “Blue Moon” (2021) . the Georgian “Beginning” (2020) or the Brazilian “Pacificado” (2019).

The last time Spanish cinema won the Golden Shell was in 2018, with Isaki Lacuesta’s “Between Two Waters”.

This year there are several Spanish titles with options: “The Kindergarten”, a drama about teenage mothers by Pilar Palomero from Zaragoza, “The Consecration of Spring”, a film by Fernando Franco on the right to sex of people with disabilities or “Suro”, the first feature film by Basque director Mikel Gurrea which could surprise.

Among the international films, the best received were “The Kings of the World”, by Colombian Laura Mora, a dreamlike “road movie” featuring street children from Medellín, and “Sparta”, a controversial portrait of pedophilia Austrian Ulrich Seidl.

For the second year in a row, the gender distinction disappears in the prize for best performance, which is divided, yes, between the protagonist and the cast and can be awarded ex aequo, as happened last year.

The other awards from the official section, in addition to the Golden Shell for Best Film, are the Silver Shell for Best Direction, the Jury Prize for Best Cinematography and the Jury Prize for Best Screenplay. In addition, the jury can award a special prize to the film that it considers deserving for it.

The gala will start at 9:00 p.m. and will be broadcast live on La 2 de TVE and on RTVE Play.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.